Another resident

IMG_0791Terrible photo, but you get the idea. I thought it was a stick insect, but it turns out to be the immature form of a type of Mantis (Empusa pennata). It lives in the Santa Barbara Daisy (Erigeron karvinskianus) in my garden. I’ve seen it several times, if I jiggle the bush it comes to the top and moves enough that I can see it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another resident

  1. John English says:

    Hi Bonnie ! Wonderful ………….. Are you going to start your own Natural History TV programme ( correct spelling ! ) soon ? Cheers. John xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. chezbon says:

    Hi John, I sure wish I knew enough to do a programme! When I find something interesting, I look it up, that’s the extent of my natural history knowledge ….
    bonnie

  3. marval says:

    they are a protected species here in france. my son used to raise them, found them fascinating… he had to raise flies and fruitflies for them… aaargh. we had jars all over… but the mantis (what is the plural?? mantises?) roamed free.

Leave a Reply

