Bees!!

I love the solitary bees, especially the big black carpenter bees. Mike and Rob sent me a “bee house” for my birthday in February. I hung it up last month, and today discovered that there are already seven bee nurseries occupied. The solitary bees fill the tunnel up with their larva and food, the larva hatches and has food until it becomes a bee. I was so absolutely thrilled to find out the bees were already using it, and its still very early in the season here.  In the photo, the holes that are sealed are the ones in which a bee larva is developing.  Great!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bees!!

  1. marval says:

    grrreat! I want one just like it!

Leave a Reply

